Five Haiku

per violino e violoncello

It was in the mid-spring 2016 when “Hundred Haikus” joined him, a book with a blue cover. All poems had a structural connection with nature, each one drew a picture and was full of movement and mystery. Hundred concise images representing the complete cycle of seasons… In spring a mysterious spirit was pushing him, whispering constantly “You must betray all locations” 

He had to avoid stability , he had to escape continuously and he was obliged to avoid the roots. 
Meanwhile Haikus were transformed to sound during long times of observation. 

As long as a whole cycle of seasons in which he was writing down the sound rapidly on the paper within a  couple of hours each. 
When finally he could write on the last page of the score:  “Wandering through Rome, Dolomites, Tehran, Vienna, Salzburg, Wolfgangsee and Roman Castles from spring 2016 to January 5th. 2017…
Time passed and from the distance the only interpretation of that denial of the roots seems to be a torturous research of identity. 

While the spring rain
drizzled the spirit of the stone
had flown out
(Murakami Kijo)

During the high noon of summer,
death was spying.
Halfclosed eyes.
(Iida Dakotsu)

Enveloped by afternoon sleepiness
I hear the beating and retorting
of a pin.
(Yamaguchi Seishi)

Wind hisses
through the treetops
the music of Koto
reaches the sky
(Kaya Shirao)

She, who comes to my dream
my mother
you turn her away again
the Cuckoo of desolation?
(Takarai Kikaku)

English translation : Corinna Lenneis 

Nella pioggerella primaverile
di certo, è uscito
lo spritello della pietra
(Murakami Kijo)

Mezzodì di piena estate;
la morte ci spia,
gli occhi socchiusi
(Iida Dakotsu)

Nel sopore della siesta, odo
battere e ribattere
un chiodo
(Yamaguchi Seishi)

Sibila il vento
tra le fronde degli alberi
la musica del Koto
raggiunge il cielo
(Kaya Shirao)

Colei che viene in sogno
mia madre,
tu riallontani,
hototogisu della malora?
(Takarai Kikaku)

Italian translation Irene Iarocci (cento Haiku-Guanda)



  • Titolo: Five Haiku
  • Organico: Violino e violoncello
  • Anno di composizione: 2017
  • Durata: 12’ circa
  • Commissionato da: Ensemble Nivak
  • Prima esecuzione: Ensemble Nivak, Roudaki Hall, Teheran, dicembre 2016
  • ISMN cartaceo: 9790520240482
  • ISMN digitale: 9790520240499
 dicembre 2016
Ensemble Nivak
 Teheran (Iran), Roudaki Hall
dicembre 2019
Dialogue – Mahoor Institute of Culture and Arts
09 febbraio 2021
Minna Pensola e Antti Tikkanen violini, Mari Viluksela viola, Markus Hohti al violoncello
Helsinki (Finlandia) – Musica Nova Helsinki, Cultural Center Caisa Musequal Composer Competition